Beautiful Freaks S11E08: Weekly Music Mix

For our final show of term, we did an old-school Beautiful Freaks Weekly radio show with no guests, themes or topics: just some great music. We start with a great and quite dark unreleased track by Protection Spells, who are playing at our Oxford gig this Thursday (8th 0f March, see here for more info!). After that follows a track by Chemtrails, who are headlining said gig.

Also played are tracks by Low, Roy Harper and The Pineapple Thief. The highlight of the show is PJ Harvey’s ‘We Float’, not one of her most well-known songs but absolutely worth it. It starts out as a Murder Ballads-era Nick Cave song, but after a minute and a half transforms into something intense and dream-like, almost shoegazey. Another beautiful song on this show is ‘Another Day’, both Roy Harper’s original version and its cover by This Mortal Coil. What a treat!


1. Eels – Beautiful Freak

2. Protection Spells – Hunger
3. Chemtrails – Wishbone

4. Low – Try to Sleep
5. This Mortal Coil – Another Day
6. Roy Harper – One Man Rock and Roll Band

7. Joanna Newsom – Baby Birch

8. PJ Harvey – We Float
9. The Pineapple Thief – Vapour Trails

10. Roy Harper – Another Day

-- Beautiful Freaks, March 7, 2018