Beautiful Freaks S11E06: Death of the Maiden

For this episode, we have Tamara Parsons-Baker (vocals/guitar) and Hannah Bruce (guitar) from Oxford-based band Death of the Maiden, who have just released their debut single ‘Soldier’. We talk about that track, as well as the upcoming album, which is based on the theme of ‘water’, and about the band more generally. It’s very interesting throughout and apparently we’ve also got an exclusive: Death of the Maiden’s upcoming album will be called The Girl with the Secret Fire.

Next week we’ll be back with our February Music Round-Up, featuring the best music from the past four weeks!

Of course, we’ve played some great tracks too; here’s the playlist:

1. Eels – Beautiful Freak

2. The Regrettes – Come Through
3. Cloud – Wildfire

4. The Verlaines – Death and the Maiden

5. Death of the Maiden – Soldier

6. Amanda Palmer – Map of Australia
7. St. Vincent – New York

8. Ani DiFranco – School Night
9. Cherry Glazerr – Nuclear Bomb

10. Tracy Chapman – The Promise

-- Beautiful Freaks, February 21, 2018